“Rescue Me” From Bad TV

 

I don’t watch a lot of TV, as it is, but, when they put an end to one of the four shows I do regularly watch, they took away one of the best-written TV spots, I have ever seen (amongst, of course, ‘Breaking Bad’, ‘It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia’, and ‘Phineas and Ferb’; that’s right; ‘Phineas and Ferb’). The History Channel doesn’t count, anymore, as good, solid programming, since they let reality shows and spin-offs take the top spots. Now, if you want to see history, on The History Channel, you have to be a night owl. It used to be my fallback. Now, that I’ve moved to Georgia and lost NESN, I have no channel I can just turn on, in the background, for interesting and informative white noise.

Distraction, I would have to say, is fundamental to writing, for me. Where have all the good writers gone? They can’t all be in advertising; though our bookshelves and movie marquees, seem to suggest as much. And, here, in the aftermath of the death of one of the last great shows left, I fear we’re also losing good TV. Are we doomed, to be a nation of nit-wits, who can focus on one thing, only long enough for the next-in-line idiot’s five minutes of unwarranted Youtube fame?

We are undernourished; starving for knowledge; and over-stimulated; lusting after another cheap thrill; to the tune of a long lost and bewildered American Dream.

