Feminine Neuroses (a.k.a. Bitches Be Crazy)

 

Okay, so he loves me and all that jazz. I won’t give you the sad and complicated backstory; suffice it to say that it is both tragic and complex. 

That said, I will let you in on some of our practices. I’m an okay girl. Some people think I’m a C-word, some people think I’m the kindest chick since Anne Shirley. I don’t often have chick bonkers moments, though, an this was one thing that pissed me off. If you want to hang out with your buddies, so be it. If you want to go out with one of your friends on MY writing night (where I need a distraction for my daughter so I can actually get some work done), fine. 

If you seem excited at the release of not being obligated to spend your New Years’ with me and YOUR daughter…we’ve got a problem. 

So, here’s where I stand; do I put my foot down? Nah…fuck it. It’s New Years’. He can spend it how he wants. He just can’t get mad if my superstitions are right and he curses himself out of our lives. I do believe that the way you spend New Years’ determines the course of your entire year.  I can’t help my deep-rooted superstitions. However; they joy on his face at my decision not to fault him for “having” to go to the friends (I can’t stand)’s house for the holiday, really makes me want to throw up. 

My intuition tells me that this was his intention, the entire time. He contrived to spend the night with his lush friends and that’s all there is to it. 

